MINUTES

The regular meeting of the Board of Education, Miller School District #29-4 was held on Monday, April 13, 2020, in the Elementary School Library. The meeting was called to order at 6:30 p.m. by Natalie Bertsch, President of the Board. Other members in attendance were Bryan Breitling, Amy Howard, Jonathan Hurd, Rob Mullaney, Connie Schroeder, and Tara Yost. Also in attendance were Dan Trefz, Superintendent, Steve Schumacher, Jr./Sr. High School Principal, Knute Reierson, Elementary Principal, Dr. Kimberly Cypher, SPED Director, and Sara Gates, Business Manager.

Motion by Yost, second by Howard to approve the board agenda. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Breitling to approve consent agenda items.

- 1. Minutes of the March 16, 2020 Regular Meeting
- 2. Financial Report
- 3. Payment of presented bills
- All voting aye.

Knute Reierson, Elementary Principal, thanked the staff for their efforts and Mr. Trefz for his leadership during these unprecedented times.

Steve Schumacher, Jr./Sr. High School Principal congratulated Maya Howard, Joanlei Baker, Emily Poindexter, and Carson Miner for placing second at the State National History Day. He also thanked Mr. Trefz and all staff for their efforts.

Dr. Kimberly Cypher, SPED Director, reported that teachers have been communicating with students and their parents.

Dan Trefz, Superintendent, reported on legislative updates, NCRC testing results, Teacher Appreciation Week, and RFP process for food service.

Motion by Mullaney, second by Hurd to authorize membership in the SDHSAA for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Schroeder, second by Howard to approve the proposal from Kohlman, Bierschbach, & Anderson LLP to perform the Miller School District's school year 2019-2020 audit at a cost that will not exceed \$14,500.00. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Yost to declare the use of SDCL 5-18-3.1 (Exception by Bid Laws) emergency award of contract without advertising for the following reasons:

- 1. Emergent nature of the repair
- 2. Location of the sewer system
- 3. The knowledge and experience of the company used to clean the sewer system
- 4. The cost for cleaning and repair of the current underground sewer system exceeds the bid limit set forth in State Codified Law. All voting aye.

Regular Meeting April 13, 2020 Page 2

Motion by Howard, second by Mullaney to approve the adoption and renewal motion for the ASB Protective Trust Workers Compensation Fund Participation Agreement for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Yost to approve the adoption and renewal motion for the ASB Protective Trust South Dakota School District Benefits Fund Participation Agreement for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Discussion on emergency generator grant.

Motion by Mullaney, second by Breitling to approve the application for a backup generator and to provide the local share for the purchase and installation of the generator. All voting aye.

Motion by Howard, second by Yost to enter into Executive Session for the express purpose of personnel issues, marketing and pricing, and negotiations SDCL 1-25-2 (1), (4), and (5) at 7:05 p.m. All voting aye.

President Bertsch declared return to regular session at 7:56 p.m.

Motion by Mullaney, second by Yost to approve the administrative contract with Memorandum of Understanding for Kimberly Cypher as SPED Director in the amount of \$59,092.10 for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Howard to approve the administrative contract with Memorandum of Understanding for Knute Reierson as Elementary Principal in the amount of \$64,051.25 for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Schroeder, second by Mullaney to approve the administrative contract with Memorandum of Understanding for Steve Schumacher as JH/HS Principal in the amount of \$64,676.00 for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Howard, second by Hurd to approve the administrative contract with Memorandum of Understanding for Sara Gates as Business Manager in the amount of \$49,157.00 for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Hurd, second by Mullaney to accept the resignation of Courtney Clarke as Millerdale Colony Teacher at the conclusion of the 2019-2020 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Yost, second by Howard to offer the certified personnel contracts as presented with salary and benefits to be set as per the 2020-2021 negotiated agreement for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Schroeder, second by Breitling to offer the full time classified personnel contracts which include secretaries, aides, and custodians as presented with an increase of .30 cents per hour for the 2020-2021 school year. All voting aye.

Regular Meeting April 13, 2020 Page 3

Motion by Hurd, second by Yost to agree to the payment to Foreman Busing as per the letter authored by Foreman Busing for the remainder of the 2019-2020 school year. All voting aye.

Motion by Mullaney, second by Howard to resolve that the Miller School District shall continue to make payroll payments to hourly staff for any scheduled hours that were missed due to the closure of schools based on the Governor of South Dakota's executive order effective April 1, 2020 through May 14, 2020. All voting aye.

Motion by Yost, second by Schroeder to approve the 2020-2021 negotiated agreement and Memorandum of Understanding as presented. All voting aye.

Motion by Breitling, second by Hurd to set the student fee for driver's education for the summer of 2020 at \$220.00. All voting aye.

The next regular school board meeting is scheduled for Monday, May 11, 2020 at 6:30 p.m. in the elementary school library.

Motion by Yost, second by Schroeder to adjourn at 8:11 p.m. All voting aye.

Natalie Bertsch, President Board of Education

Sara Gates Business Manager